Skip to content

drips and splatters of blue and yellow

December 17, 2009

Interesting dripper and splatterer Jackson Pollock

Jackson Pollock was not Rothko. Rothko was not a teacher but Suzanne is like a Rothko. Pollock is not Suzanne, but Suzanne would “get” Pollock. 

That is my Bertram Cooper Koan of the Day, a riddle meaning nothing. 

Here’s something Pollock said — 

“When I am in my painting, I’m not aware of what I’m doing. It is only after a sort of ‘get acquainted’ period that I see what I have been about. I have no fear of making changes, destroying the image, etc., because the painting has a life of its own. I try to let it come through. It is only when I lose contact with the painting that the result is a mess. Otherwise there is pure harmony, an easy give and take, and the painting comes out well.” 

__________________________________________ 

Would Pollock “get” Homer Simpson I wonder. Today December 17, 2009 is the twentieth anniversary of the premiere of The Simpsons on FOX. Arguably one of the network’s few laudable contributions to our culture.  Santa’s Little Helper, The Treehouse of Horror, Mr. Lisa Goes to Washington, Moe!! and on and on ad infinitum. My life is so much richer for having tuned them in. 

 And of course Bobbie Barrett had to have savored the moment when they tied Don Draper to the bed posts and gave him the Homer Simpson treatment

 _______________________________________________________ 

During a rumble in the jungle comment thread below, I took a half-assed swipe at the Philadelphia Flyers hockey team by comparing their defensemen to irritated koala bears. 

However after the Flyers were manhandled and summarily dispatched 6-1 by my defending Stanley Cup Champion Pittsburgh Penguins Tuesday night, in a game in which three fights broke out 16 seconds apart in the first period, I think I need to apologize — to koala bears for the unflattering comparison to such unworthy, dentally challenged opponents.  May I suggest to all koalas down under, if you can learn to skate, the Flyers may give you a try-out up there. They need help. 

The second half of the home-and-away series takes place in the Cradle of Liberty Thursday night.  We’ll see if the young boys from Philly can “koala up” for the rematch. 

The rules of our 437 parlor game – Giving Don Draper the 3rd Degree – require me to mention the lovely Betty (soon-to-be-ex) Draper was from Lower Merion and attended Bryn Mawr College in the Main Line enclave outside of Philadelphia. Did you know Grace Kelly was born in East Falls, seriously near the Main Line, and that she had a sister called Peggy?  LOM News could not confirm reports Ms.Kelly had problems with uncontrollable flatulence though.  We suggest – You decide! 

_______________________________________________________________ 

General Meta-blogging Observation and Question — As I try to make sense of the gauges and figure out how to better drive this shout-it-from-a-soapbox derby car, I’ve become aware we have more than a few link-ins from Basket of Kisses; I read the shout-out in the News post and The Suite wishes to thank Deborah and Roberta for doing more than just offering Lipp service to the IPO here. Huzzah! 

(I am so sorry for the hackneyed wordplay; you two undoubtedly have heard every possible juvenile variation of that at least nine kajillion times by now but I cannot always restrain my inner fourteen year-old smart-ass from blurting out such stuff; someone might call Child Protective Services on me if I tried.   But it was literally funny; less of me had no choice.) 

Anyway, Josh Lyman has recommended I put a poll in the field  (I have to anyway; Festivus is near!) and see what  The Suite’s readers and commenters think of the place so far. It’s a simple single question to start and the answers are not your words; they’re my words. I’m projecting. (If you thoroughly read BoK as you should, you should be giggling a little.)   But maybe I’ll make it a regular feature if I’m amused. 

So if it’s as easy as this little widget suggests there should be a quick check box below here somewhere when I hit this blue button, (or wait, is it a yellow button?)  Keep yer fingers crossed. 

Please dance around the poll; lament loudly; air all your grievances of the past year. It’s very refreshing!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

