Skip to content

It’s the Winter Solstice-Lie down with a Druid tonight!

December 21, 2009

The guys that built this Henge had some Stones!

Today is the shortest day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere.  Well, it’s still twenty-four hours long but the sun is visible for the shortest period of time making it the shortest “day” measured by actual daylight.

It’s commonly referred to as the first day of winter but I always liked to consider it the last day of winter. Of course the coldest, snowiest part of the season is yet to come but regarding the sunlight, this is the nadir. The “days” begin to get longer from here on out; that’s a terrific place to mark the end of the decline and dormancy and signify the start of the rebirth and growth. So I would tell my friends this is really the first day of spring, at least for me, psychologically. You can correctly infer I was regularly teased and mocked as a youngster. I can tell you, that tradition continues.

Many, many cultures around the globe cultivated rituals to celebrate this day.

Bertram probably has this print on the west wall of a pagoda somewhere inside the Cooper Compound.

That’s Amaterasu Omikami, the Sun goddess, being lured from her cave to return to the Celestial Plain and make the good stuff grow again. The good stuff that eventually will be harvested and packaged and labelled and advertised and sold for a reasonable profit by Bert and his Capitalist Brethren. And so it goes.

Do a little dance. Make a little love. Get down tonight! With a pagan!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne B permalink
    December 21, 2009 3:16 pm

    “The first day of spring” is a lovely way to see it. It is raining here in San Francisco. Not sunny at all. But it wouldn’t. Not today.

    The 21st of December is typically the worst day of the year for me, so I thought I’d post to drag it from the doldrums. So far, not much luck.

    That said, it’s good to hear from you.

    And Suzanne’s child is lovely. Don’t listen to that business about the eyes: no one knows what any child will look like until it’s born. A year after, more so. Injected a bit of intrigue into the dead zone before the season-4 spin, didn’t you? 🙂

    Much love to you, my pagan sibling!

  2. less of me permalink
    December 21, 2009 3:39 pm

    AB, you little muse you! Your comment next door has inspired a caption for that rock grouping above.

    Typically the worst? But it doesn’t have to be, types can change. Go switch your font.

    And yes, I like to stir the drink, rouse the rabble; often just for the fun of it. I may have been raised by trolls.

    In truth, I was raised by woodpeckers, Woody Woodpeckers.
    I’m some sort of instigator; that’s right, a real troublemaker.

    You can talk it out with me anytime you want, sis!

  3. Anne B permalink
    December 21, 2009 10:49 pm

    Had some Stones. Heh.

    You know, my Dad used to visit that little rock formation on a bike. Long before they roped the thing off, in fact. He talks all the time about Salisbury Hill.

    Hardy soul, my dad.

    Get on back to nest now, little … never mind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

