Skip to content

I am here to amuse you

January 21, 2010

Well, the PC situation at the Hovel is still not completely resolved and my patience is tapped but I am still driven to howl at the virtual moon and the world is spinning rapidly, so here’s something.

Read the following if you haven’t already, there will be a quiz on this material and other global events next week.

Amanda writes about Marketing and ties it to Mad Men.

SEK writes about Don Draper as Emma Bovary. I should send him riverdaughter’s  Peer Gynt analysis and I probably will, if I can find it.

Amanda again, this time on feminism and fashion.

And Amanda one more time, I’m developing Big Luv for her, as she writes about the Patriarchy as illuminated through HBO’s Mormons in “Big Love”.

UPDATE:   SEK follows up on our man Don and he does some some interesting identity exposition.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

PS– I’m sorry The Hirsute Hammer and the fetching January Jones did not win some trophy or whatever, but their characters are just not sociopathic enough to win an “Drama Award”. Kill someone already, dogdamnit. Isolation and introspection are only rewarded if they result in bodies that need dismembering. Walter White dissolves his problems in the bath tub with acid; Dexter exsanguinates.  Dick Whitman drops his Zippo; Betty takes a plane ride. !??  For January to win some drama hardware she needs to channel Russ Meyer, steal a car and tear-ass through the desert. The Weiner-god needs to ramp up the mayhem and blood-soaked chaos in order for its actors to be appropriately loved by the entertainment voters.

It’s very similar to way the American political system works, when you stop and think about it.

Go Betty! Faster Housecat! Kill! Kill!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    February 13, 2010 7:51 am

    Hi, Less of Me how’s it going? You’ve been quiet as a mouse lately. If you have a free moment over the next few weeks, would love to see you apply the Mayers-Briggs personality test to Mad Men characters. For an example of the test as applied to other mythological characters, see here

    http://myth.typepad.com/breakfast/greek_gods_and_myersbriggs/

    I don’t think anyone else has done this yet, and it would be a really useful exercise.

  2. Ruth permalink
    February 13, 2010 7:52 am

    Me again, sorry. It’s Myers Briggs not Mayers Briggs.

    • March 3, 2010 4:45 pm

      Hi Ruth!!
      Hope you’ve been well. I am better than my silence might suggest. How far into S3 are you over there? I trust my girl Suzanne is looking good. Is she looking any different to you? And do you think the universe is indifferent? Or is it primarily blue? I’ll look into the personality test once I get the place cleaned up a little; I’m concerned that Don is receiving too much moral opprobrium and there are suggestions aloft that he’s is a borderline sociopath. I’ll be defending Don now I think.

Leave a Reply

